Polski Blues – short and sweet

Basler Jura is a really nice limestone climbing area south of Basel, Switzerland. It reminds me of Frankenjura… just the very yummy cake and good beer is missing ๐Ÿ™‚

Most of the climbs are slab, face or slightly overhanging which makes it very technical, often with some really memorable = hard moves which makes this place really special. What I like is that if you want to do a route, you have to find ALL the tricks, do everything perfectly, the route must fit you, and the conditions should be good…ย  then you might have a chance of sending.

I can’t remember a single easy warm-up route… never easy but always warms you up ๐Ÿ˜‰ it may even become your project for the day…

Last year I joined my brother, Nico Favrese and Agyro Papapthanasiou to Pelzli. Looking through the guidebook the Mozzarella bloc caught my eye, as my favorite salad is Mozzarella/Tomato ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, I saw that Micha Steimle, a friend opened it… so I had to try it

Kaddi doing the crux lock-off on Polski Blues - 8a @ Pelzli, Basler Jura. photo: Scott Noy

Kaddi doing the crux lock-off on Polski Blues – 8a @ Pelzli, Basler Jura. photo: Scott Noy

 

THE line on the block is Polski Blues 8a, andย goes up the middle of the wall with a very obvious crack start. The hardest part was to figure out how to link the subtle features together!

Once I had found a way and had done all the moves it was time to link it all together… the red-point crux was having enough power left over at the end to do a very precise lock off move into a thin horizontal crack… and a final dynamic but precise move from a sloper to a hourglass hold.

This weekend we arrived at the parking but found Scott had forgotten the rope in Frankenjura which filming Melissa doing Wall Street… LUCKILY my brother was near and was able to lend us his Sterling… THANK YOU Christi!!

Somehow with no expectations on my 2nd go it all clicked and I managed to get the First Female Ascent of the route ๐Ÿ™‚ I really enjoyed the moves – you have to do everything perfectly (but at the same time quickly), very maximal power, and intense movement… SHORT and SWEET.

And of course, also thanks to Scott for belaying, cheering… and making a nice chill fire under a clear night sky ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

